Ye Olde Cycle Shoppe

The Vintage Motorcycle Road Test Library

1920 – 1927 Neracar article & brochure

6 responses to “1920 – 1927 Neracar article & brochure

  1. Paul June 25, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    I am very proud to see this. The winning racer of the Reading to Pittsburgh 2 day trial is my Great Uncle Saul Kulp. He also owned a Neracar dealership and was killed on a motorcycle of some sort soon after this race.

    • yeoldecycleshoppe June 25, 2012 at 11:17 pm

      Wow, Paul. Thanks for sharing! I bet you have some great stories. Care to share?

      • Paul June 26, 2012 at 11:27 am

        Well, my Great Uncle Saul lived in Reading PA his whole life and became a motorcycle enthusiast in the early teens, riding with a club which I believe is still active to this day. He owned a Yale and Thor motorcycle shop and raced them at various board tracks and then later he later purchased a Neracar dealership, racing them as well.
        For him it was a matter of business. An early proponent of “win on Sunday, sell on Monday” so to speak. He was killed while trying to collect a debt. He had sold a motorcycle on payments (a Neracar one would presume) and was trying to collect on the debt when an unknown person ran him off the road and was killed in the ensuing wreck. He was the black sheep of the family and was never spoken of. I found your site trying to research this colorful member of my family. You don’t know how much the flyer you have here with his picture means to me. I have a photo of him outside his Neracar dealership that has never been seen outside of our family. If you would be interested I could share it with you and your site.

      • yeoldecycleshoppe June 26, 2012 at 11:55 am

        That is incredible. I would love to see any pictures you have and I’m sure I speak for others as well. Also, I believe I have the hard copy of this brochure still in my files. If so, it is yours. Feel free to email me your shipping address at slowpoke@yeoldecycleshoppe.com and I’ll be happy to send it your way.

  2. Paul Blezard May 23, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    You all might enjoy seeing the ageless trials champion Sammy Miller riding his Neracar, no hands, on the Top Gear programme about FF motorcycles which I wrote and presented way back in 1988: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foAgByo_txA&mode=related&search=
    PNB

Leave a Reply

