Ye Olde Cycle Shoppe

The Vintage Motorcycle Road Test Library

1973 Kawasaki Z1 900 “Barn Find”

Ok, not really a “barn find” per se, but that’s the cool thing to declare these days when you bring home a new project. It would take more than 1000 words to describe my excitement over this picture. That is my truck in my driveway with what is now my first year root beer and orange Z1. My friend Jim, who has owned it since 1978, gave this to me to finish. If you know what it is, you know why I’m excited. If you don’t, ehhh, you’re probably not interested enough to read the story anyway. Aside from being one of the original superbikes, the fastest bike you could get in 1973, yadda yadda, this one has seen a lot of miles, had the same owner for over 30 years, was stolen and then returned to its owner, and I’m sure there is a lot more to its story that I haven’t heard yet. This will not be a “cut it up” project, it needs to be restored. Which will be a long, expensive road, but lots of fun. Best Christmas ever!

20111210-201627.jpg

20111210-201611.jpg

Leave a Reply

